College of Arts & Letters announces award recipients


The University of Southern Mississippi College of Arts & Letters held its annual Awards Day on April 25, 2016 in the Thad Cochran Center. Students were welcomed and recognized by Dean Maureen Ryan. Stay with the Printz as more names are submitted. If you would like to submit a recipient’s name, please email [email protected]


Outstanding Student Award in Graphic Design
Cody Bass, Kasey Holifield
Outstanding Student Award in Drawing and Painting
Magen Pierce, Alex Townsend
Outstanding Student Award in Sculpture
Tirza Legg
Outstanding Student Award in Art BA
Michael Lynch


Department Service Award
Austin Allen
Don George Award for Academic Excellence
Andrew Wade Johnson, Marissa C. McGillis
Siltanen-Hoseman Scholarship Endowment
Ashley McDonald
Elliot and Bonnie Pood Communication Studies Scholarship Endowment
Jonathan Bridenbaker, Madison Clark, Lakelyn Taylor
The Susan Mallon Ross Award for Outstanding Contribution to The University of Southern Mississippi Speaking Center
Aleke Vehos, Carley Young


The Presser Foundation Undergraduate Scholar Award
John Eze Uzodinma, II


Mary Maude T. Jordan Scholarship
William Clark
Wilbur & Polly Stout English Scholarship
Hannah Baker, Heather Miller, Lindsay Patrono, Emma Reeves, Ashley Yount
Linwood E. Orange Scholarship
James Baker, Charles Hunter Joplin
Howard Wilson & Helen Bahr Scholarship
Mary Ryan Karnes, Corley Longmire
Howard W. Bahr Achievement Scholarship
Stacie Covington, Paige Gray
Garth Avant Memorial Endowment
Monic Ductan, Joe Holt
Florence Burrow Pope Endowed Scholarship
Katherine Abel, Katelyn Ladner
Shannon O’Hara & Henry Mackaman English Scholarship
Madison Etheridge, Mary Ryan Karnes, AmyJoy Sedberry, Mary Spooner
Janey Sims English Scholarship
Jana Ishee, AmyJoy Sedberry
Joan Johnson Writing Award
Michael Goodwin, Joseph Todd Gray, Ben Mitchell, Anastasia Stelse
Ben Mounger Rawls Award
Jennifer Brewington, Hannah Dow Nelma
Marlin Ivey Scholarship
Leah Barnes


Outstanding Freshman in Dance
Jennifer Alafat
Outstanding Sophomore in Dance
Cassidy Simmons
Outstanding Junior in Dance
Destiny Ponville
Outstanding Senior in Dance
Alexandra Robinson


Outstanding Philosophy Undergraduate
Dyllan Kittrell
Outstanding Religion Undergraduate
Karen Schaffer
Forrest Wood Scholarship
David Holladay, Maya Rex
Clayton Sullivan Scholarship
Kimberly Boisseau


The William H. Hatcher Award in Political Theory
Lauren Taylor Provencher
The James H. Wolfe Comparative Politics Award
John D. Rimann
The Joseph B. Parker American Politics Award
Nathan Barron
Award for the Outstanding Student in Public Law
Julia Sieben
Award for the Outstanding Student in Political Science Methods
Quentin Welborn
The Atley Graham Memorial Scholarship for Economics
Brandon Nettles
The Mark Klinedinst Distinguished Graduates Award for Economics
Ambre Martocchio
The Ronald G. Marquardt Memorial Award in Paralegal Studies for Academics-Hattiesburg
Taylor Morgan
The Ronald G. Marquardt Memorial Award in Paralegal Studies for Academics-Gulf Coast
Shelley Zabatani
Political Science Graduate Student of the Year
Vivian Ike
Political science Undergraduate of the Year-Gulf Coast
Kaouthar Mejdoubi


Shann MM Winn Outstanding Anthropology Student of the Year
Rebecca Aucoin
Irmgard H. Wolfe Award for Best Graduate Paper in Anthropology
Shalonda Collins
Lambda Alpha Award for Best Undergraduate Paper in Anthropology
Joshua Caves
Anthropology and Sociology Outstanding Service Award
Sara Jordan Banks
Sociology Student of the Year
Amber Bynum
Alpha Kappa Delta Award for Best Undergraduate Paper in Sociology
Emily Kate Ratliff
Sociological Imagination Paper Award
Latoysha Brown


Best Broadcast Package
Allysa Cole
Best Creative Advertising
Shelby York
Best Graphic Design
Emily Gruzineskas
Best Multimedia and Digital Journalism
Best Non-News/TV Video Production
Corey Robinette
Best Photo
Hunt Mercier
Best Print Story
Joshua Starr
Best Producer
Will Foley
Best Public Relations Writing and Design
Anna Tauchar and Kathryn Duke
Best Website
Madeline Bordelon
Best Academic Advisor
Mandy Nace
Best Teacher
Lindsey Conlin


Outstanding Underclassman
Lindsey Hargrave
Outstanding Senior
Nicole Boisdore
Outstanding Leadership
Haley Martin